5 Tips to use when Taking Down a Protective Style 

As you all know I have been wearing a protective style lately (two strand twists), and I recently just took them out. I have had the style in for over a month now, and I decided it was time to go through the dreading process of taking it down. 

I consider the take down process just as important as the process of applying the style. When applying a style you want to take your time and properly do it so that the style comes out right. Well think of the take down process in the same light. Having your hair in a protective style for a while promotes hair growth but also causes your hair to be in a fragile state because it has not been touched. 

In today’s post I will go over some important tips that I use when taking down a protective style. 

1. Coat your hair will an oil 

Most likely your hair is dry and needs moisture especially if your taking down a weave, so I suggest oiling your hair to give your hair some slip. The slip will allow less breakage and overall an easier process for you. 

2. Be Gentle 

I cannot stress enough how important it is to be gentle with your hair. Your hair is in a fragile state, so you would want to carefully take your time letting it down. I used to want to rush and speed up the process, and that only led to more hair shedding and breakage. You want to protect the hair growth you have. 

3. Detangle Detangle Detangle

Detangling your hair is very important in the take down process because you will have many knots and built up dead hair that you need to comb out. If you notice you have a lot of hair fall out when removing a protective style, and that’s because you have not combed your hair for the length of time your style has been in. So you will need to comb any hair that’s been built up within that time.

 I like to finger detangle before I get the comb mostly because I want to be gentle and my hands are more gentle than a comb. When I do use the comb I use a wide tooth comb. When detangling you want to start from end to root because you will have less breakage that way and detangling will be easier. 

4. Wash, Condition, and Deep Condition 

When washing your hair focus on the scalp. This is the part of your head that needs the most love, especially if you have not washed your hair throughout the whole protective style. Also the product will rinse down the rest of your hair once rinsed out. I like to wash my hair a good two or three times just to makes sure that my hair is good and clean. And remember a sulfate free shampoo is the best option for your hair.

When conditioning, I regularly skip to deep conditioning but since my hair has been protected for so long it needs that extra love. I condition and deep condition to add that extra moisture back into my hair . I add the conditioner to my ends first because they need the most love and when conditioning I detangle more just to get any remaining knots out.You would also want the conditioner to be sulfate free as well , so that your hair is not stripped of its natural moisture. 

The deep conditioner will help add extra moisture back into your hair and add softness. I like to purchase the deep conditioner packets from Target or Walmart and use half for one wash and the other half for my next wash. Or you can purchase the deep conditioners in a container which in the long run may be cheaper. I heard great things about Aussie Moists deep conditioner so I plan to try it out in the future. 

5. L.O.C Method 

After shampooing and conditioning my hair I like to apply the L (leave in conditioner) . O (oil). C (cream) method. This method is extremely important because it gives your hair moisture and locks it in. I also notice that my curls are a little out of shape after taking down a protective style, so this will help your curls get it together if your like me. 

I like to use Shea Moistures Jamaican Black Castor Oil leave in conditioner because it provides good slip to my hair and coats my curls really well. As far as an oil, Africas Best Oil is amazing because it too provides good slip and the price is prefect (literally, under $2!). For cream, lately I’ve been using Cantu curl cream. It’s best to use this product on wet hair because it soakes in better and won’t leave a white cast on your hair. 

That goes for the Shea moisture leave in as well. The Africas Best Oil can be used daily on wet or dry hair. Just know, your hair soakes in product more when it’s damp/wet. 

After this step I just style my hair as desired and get ready to take on the world. 

Thank you all for reading today’s post, I hope this has given you tips that you can use on your next take down or wash day. Talk to you all in my next post, muah! 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lexi says:

    I love this post girl! We talk a bit on IG and I’m so happy I’ve come across someone like you! I really needed these tips because I currently have crochet twists in and they’re coming out very soon. I’m looking into buying that deep conditioner you mentioned as well! Thanks for this! XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey girl! Thanks so much for stopping by. I’m so glad you liked the post. These tips really helped and I know they will be of some use to you as well. Also that leave in conditioner is AMAZING! It’s worth every penny. Let me know how you like it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

