L’oreal Ever Curl- (sulfate free) Curl Care System Review!

(Disclaimer- I was sent a complementary package of the new  L’oreal Ever Curl system from Influenster. All opinions are my own.)

Hello Goldens! Today I’m sharing with you a curl system for all of my curly haired viewers. I’m sure we all have gone through our fair share of bad hair days and look to the heavens to seek some sort of help . I know I have ! So when I had the opportunity to try out the new L’oreal curl system I hopped on it! I’m typically someone who likes to stick to my holy grails but I’m open to trying different products. 



Here is how the packaging and products look. As you can see this is a three step system of shampoo, conditioner, and sculpt and hold cream gel. The products are generous in size and smell heavenly.  I wanted to try out the sculpt and hold cream first to see if it was possible to use without having to wash and condition my hair. Typically throughout the week before I begin my day I like to dampen my hair and add any oils and cream to help moisturize my hair without needing to shampoo . 




I wanted to try out the gel cream in the middle of the week when my hair was dry and needed a little pick me up. As you can see in the images above my hair was in need of moisture! Do to being an athlete I tend to sweat my hair out of its moisture when I workout ,so a daily moisturizer is needed in my hair care routine. 


Since I am only using the gel cream I dampened my hair and split it into four divisions so that I can properly moisture and detangle all parts of my hair. I used two pumps of the cream for the back sections of my hair and three pumps for the front sections. The pumps for each section was different because I did not divide my hair evenly, but the amount of pumps used will depend on how thick and/or long your hair is. I would apply one pump if your not sure and then add if needed. 


After evenly distributing the product throughout my hair I immediately began to see results. I was afraid that because the product read gel that my hair would be crunchy but to my surprise my hair is as soft as a cotton ball…Literally! The cream balances out the gel and helps maintain the curl pattern while still having the hair look and feel smooth and soft. 

I would say that my second day hair is very dry after doing this method, which could be due to my hair needing to be washed, but If the product was just a moisturizer then my hair would not be as dry. The added gel defines the curl pattern but will sink in over time and cause dryness. So I would say that the gel-cream is good for a daily wash and go. 

So now that you have seen how the gel cream is on its own let’s see how the entire collection works together .

I began by washing my hair with the shampoo provided and I noticed that it had a good lather and did not dry out my hair . After shampooing I seperated my hair and applied the conditioner evenly throughout. I then began to detangle my hair while still having the conditioner in . After detangling I like to leave the conditioner in while I shower in order for my hair to soak up the moisture. 

I did notice that the conditioner is not as moisturizing as my other conditioner that I use which was a disappointment because my hair lacks moisture, but my hair did have shine which I like because it does not look dull or dry.

Once done showering I rinse the conditioner out with cold water to seal moisture into my hair . Then I followed up with my normal routine for my hair after washing it ( if you all will like to see a blog post on my routine let me know!). 

I wanted to only use the products given so that I can really see how they work on their own. I used the cream-gel in my hair before styling and I proceeded to finish my routine which consists of braiding my hair in 4-8 sections and finger curling the ends .

I leave my hair braided overnight while my hair drys and in the morning I unbraid it and style it for the day. 


The next morning when I I braided my hair I noticed that my hair was dry overall , especially at the ends. My curls were also not defined as they normally are when I do my normal routine. I had to dampen my hair and go into my other products in order to get the preferred style that I desired. If I try out the products again I will most likely use my other products as well to see if I get better results.

Final thoughts: I like how the cream-gel allows my hair to hold its curl but the products overall are not fit for me. I’m not sure if the products will work better on other hair textures but the products strip my hair of moisture. I also am not able to use the products on their own in order to achieve the look that I want.

I’m so glad I was able to test out these products before they go into stores! I really believe that the products have potential but just need to be tested on a variety of hair textures. For me I like my hair soft and moisturized and I would like to see this product be able to so that. 

Until next time Goldens, xoxo! 

Leave a Reply

